To Thine Own Self Be True

During my “cardio” time I almost always listen to my thoughts. And this past week the thought that came to me over and over was, “To thine own self be true”.

As I meditated on what this message might be- more thoughts came. I knew this was Hamlet but I pondered if there was  another application to this old quote.

Polonius:
This above all: to thine own self be true,
And it must follow, as the night the day,
Thou canst not then be false to any man.
Farewell, my blessing season this in thee!

Shakespeare’s Hamlet Act 1, scene 3, 78–82

Then a few days ago I was reading an interesting article about Serge Nubret who was one of the bodybuilders of the “Golden Age”. He was being interviewed about his training and his workout methods.

http://www.ironaddicts.com/forums/showthread.php?t=14998

 

I think the writer understood that Serge was saying that his methods worked for him but could this high volume training work for everyone to the extent that it worked for Serge?

To me- a similar question would be, would Serge Nubret’s shoes fit everyone’s feet?

Probably not- but could I learn something from this as I continue to conduct my personal experiment?

Yes, I may find out that this high volume may not allow me to recover from one workout to another.

But his physique is so amazing and inspiring.

Have you been inspired by something or someone?

I have.

Then let what they have done and the results they got inspire you to do what you need to do to get what you want.

You don’t have to necessarily do what they did. Ask me how I know this!

So what was my message? I think it was a confirmation.

I must be true to my personal energy levels, my personal energy out put, and above all I must be true to my own personal rate of recovery. Because if I don’t I  will go from training and producing results to over training and setting myself up for either diminishing returns or an injury that could put me out of the running.  And so will you.

What’s important to me particularly right now is what works for me. I am not attempting a Transformation- I am attempting The Eclipse– 31 years after the fact which means I need to lose what ever fat and water necessary to keep and display the muscle gained to be able to surpass my condition of over three decades ago.

I need to keep the delicate balance between training and over training. I know I can lose weight- but in an all-out effort to lose weight quickly will I also lose muscle? That is exactly what I am trying to avoid so this process is taking a little longer than I expected.

OK this thought goes in my Journal.

One Response

  1. Thanks, Carlos. That’s a very good word, indeed!

Leave a Reply

